Ladles of Love

A snapshot that gave me many fond memories

I borrowed this picture from one of my favorite chefs because it touches me so deeply to see the bond between father and son – especially in the kitchen. I am reminded of the many days when I would peer over pots, fawn over fragrances, play in powdery substances as if I was preparing things myself, and savor the sentiments created with my family.

It seems there are too few days when we share this magic with children. In the era of all things quick and easy or to-go for togethered-convenience (yes, I made that word up), we sacrifice the incomparable connection – the ladles of love – that so easily culminate amidst culinary delight.

Though I know we’ve exceeded the deadline of New Year’s resolutions, I’ve resolved in my mind to spend more time with my boys in the kitchen. In part, so my eldest will stop saying, “Mom, can you make me something to eat?” He turned 17 two days ago.

I think we need to broaden his horizons (smile); but, even more so I want to make these indelible moments because when I prepare certain things, I can feel my grandmother in the kitchen – even though she’s no longer with me. I remember the Saturdays with my dad learning how to make breakfast. I remember how much I admired my mom’s abilities and expertise – and how it inspired me to be a better cook.

I want to share that magic with my own. I want them to develop memories of their own. Maybe we can make new traditions that will last long after I’m not here. Are you sharing yours? I’d love ot hear about them. And if not, maybe you should.

Just my two cents.

4 thoughts on “Ladles of Love

  1. Have you read Marcus’ autobiography? It is riveting.
    Spending time in the kitchen with your boys will be priceless. You’ll be creating lasting, living memories for the generations to come, much like your grandmother.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have not, but you have certainly piqued my interest! I love him as a chef. I messaged him once on FB to get permission to write about him on my blog and he said yes! It was quite some time ago… but I think I shall be ordering that book. Thanks for letting me know!

      On another note, I love your Dogman post! My nine year old has read quite a few of them in the past year, so I was tickled to have a point of reference. I wanted to comment on your post, but couldn’t find the button! It was quite lovely :o)

      Thank you for reading and responding, Book Dragon!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a horrible cook, I mean really, really bad. A dear friend of mine is a terrific cook, not a foodie, just some one who makes delicious meals, that nurture and love people and take care of their spirits. How I miss sitting at the island in her kitchen, watching her hands chop and mix. I love that you are loving your boys in this way.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.