“Wings” & Waffles (Vegan Style)

“Hot Honey Shrooms & Waffles” One of the best meals I’ve ever had courtesy of Mo’ Better Brews in Houston, Texas

As I was searching for what to write about in the ninth (or eleventh?) hour, I settled on going to one of my happiest places – food! I was reminded of a recent visit to Houston, Texas where I tried this dish at an all-vegan restaurant. I happened upon this lovely gem after seeing it float past me for another customer and quickly inquired. I was sold when she said, “Well, I’m not vegan – but I really like this, and I get it all the time!”

That was all I needed to hear. So, I said, “I’ll have one of those – and the other thing she’s having, too!” (which happened to be a vegan boudin sushi roll – it was also lovely)! I transitioned into my vegan life somewhere around COVID, after sitting home watching a wealth of documentaries. By the time I’d gotten through, “What the Health” and “Forks Over Knives,” I’d been fully converted .I promptly relieved my pantry and fridge of all things meat and dairy and decided to leap into the culinary adventure.

I realized shortly thereafter that I should probably not coerce my tribe of six to join me, although they did make an attempt. Since then, they’ve altered some eating habits, and my seven and eleven year-olds informed me that they were “half-vegan,” which I found to be hilarious. I’ve learned quite a bit on this journey. I’ve discovered that in all things there are extremes, though I am not one of those. I am accepting of those who mirror my lifestyle and equally o.k. with those who don’t. I choose not to impose my preferences on anyone else, and I’m happy to eat around menus that weren’t designed with vegans in mind.

I’m also enjoying the many benefits and happily share them with those who are interested. The biggest determining factor for me was recognizing that so many people in my family were affected by health issues that were diet related. That being said, among the things that I love the most is finding vegan items that don’t look (or taste) too frightening to try – and this would be one of them!

If you haven’t tried plant-based items, I’m happy to report that they are far better than they used to be! Even if you didn’t change to a meatless or dairy-free diet, there are enormous benefits to including more whole fruits and vegetables on a regular basis. To those who are already there – enjoy the countless possibilities! In the meantime, I’ll make it a point to find more places that have delectable dishes like the one above. I’m definitely looking forward to a round two! It was a pleasant plate to remember!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.