Cristoferito – Mi Amor

My favorite 16 year old Mini-Me

I am always tickled about how our children (as mommies) all come from the same tummy, are essentially raised in the same way, have so much in common, but can be so strikingly different. This is most true about my second son, Christopher. He is the least interested in taking a picture. He’s the most emphatic about not bending the rules. He is very particular about his belongings, and he is artistic, creative and entrepreneurial beyond measure.

It is with Christopher that I learned the value of spending individual quality time with my quad squad. I am careful to make moments with intentionality between all of us, but I increasingly treasure our one-on-one conversations. So much is revealed! Their unique personalities are not lost in the collective hum of family festivities. Instead, their voices become pronounced, distinct and discerned.

I’ve come to believe that siblings are often different around each other in front of their parents as compared to how they engage with parents when they are alone. There are some secrets, hopes, dreams and opinions that are only shared in exclusivity. I love these moments! They are raw and real – and sometimes rare; but, they are so precious.

He certainly shares bonds with his brothers on numerous levels, and that brings me joy – because I want their relationships to be tightly knitted, especially after we are gone. Nevertheless, I am terribly delighted by our private conversations. I love our mutual aspirations to one day take on Tokyo. I enjoy discussing the nuances of Naruto, one of his favorite animated shows. I deeply treasure our culinary sessions, as he is the best chef of the boys. I’m elated to discuss his interests in fashion, culture, faith and loyalty. And perhaps selfishly, I am tickled to find so much of me in him.

I tell people all the time that even when kids grow up in the same house., they can be so different. I don’t think this is something to be disappointed about. For me, it is a gem. I love that Christopher is an independent thinker; insightful; compassionate – and a dreamer with plans that he carefully executes with great precision.

He’s an old soul who’s ahead of his time, and has certainly captured the depth of mi corazon. My love for him, amongst his brothers, is both the same and it is different. I cannot wait to see what he will one day become.

He will always be my Cristoferito. My heart is full – and that is priceless.

#myChristopher #boymom #quadmom #itsthebrowns #thebrowntribe #cristoferito #foreverlove #bestillmyheart #micorazon #memories #foreverlove #drcarlamichelle

3 thoughts on “Cristoferito – Mi Amor

  1. First, what a beautiful boy! Secondly, yep…totally agree! We have three teens here and they are so incredibly different, yet the same. It is an amazing gift to be able to watch them grow into these almost adult humans and witness their evolution. Your love for your son is infused in every word!

    Like

  2. Aw, I love this! What a wonderful reflection on your relationship with your son and with the individual quirks that make him him. I only have one but I know my friend who has multiple children also values the one on one time she gets with each of her children, so I’m glad you’re able to spend time with each of your boys individually to get them know them so well.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.