The Wonders of Celebrating World Culture Day

Me with my "Furoshiki" teacher - "The Art of Japanese Fabric Wrapping!"
Black Texas Girl Celebrating World Culture Day in Colorado with French, Spanish & Japanese highlights!  Por supuesto! #simplybeautiful

World Cultures Day was an exceptional occasion today at Arapahoe Community College (where I’ve decided to add to my doctorate, an Associate in Spanish degree)!  A wealth of cultural experiences unlike my day-to-day norms was such a refreshing encounter!  In doing so, I was able to enjoy hearing a traditional Mexican song from a student soloist who strummed on his guitar, a community musical rendition of “Ay, Ay, Ay, Ay” (Cielito Lindo by Ana Gabriel), an operatic selection in French as well as a solo ballet performance with classical music heralding Latin influences and beautiful karaoke in Japanese.  It was perfectly ended with an invitation to the audience to participate in dancing to “The Macarena,” which I thoroughly appreciated with Spanish as my second language!

The program also included an interactive lesson in “Furoshiki:  The Art of Japanese Fabric Wrapping,” (among my favorites)!  I learned that this artistic endeavor is not only practical, but it’s inexpensive and ecologically friendly.  Using Furoshiki reduces the need for plastic, which is harmful to the environment.  We learned several ways to strategically fold our scarves that would allow us to carry flat objects, bottles of liquid and so much more.  It was fascinating!

I had no idea they could be so versatile!  In Black culture (particularly those of us from the South), they are often used primarily to protect women’s hair when going to bed (and I wear mine daily)!  I’ve had many silk scarves like the one so generously given to me today, but  I never considered through innovative folding that it could be used to carry items for the betterment of the environment.

Today’s memory was a special one for me.  As a Texas resident for 37 of my 46 years, I grew up with a great affection for diverse cultures.  I enjoyed rich undertones of the American South because my grandparents were from Mississippi, Tennessee and Arkansas.  I have rich connections to soulful Black heritage because my parents were both Baby Boomers from Chicago, Illinois.  In Texas, I was immersed in both Latino, Cajun and Asian cultures, and in Colorado, I’ve strengthened ties to African immigrants and refugees.  They have shaped my appreciation for luminaries from all over the world!

Today’s celebration will sing in my heart for a long time.  Ultimately?  This rendezvous was #priceless!

#worldculturesday #diversity #ethnicity #beauty #humanity #texas #colorado #black #latina #african #cajun #french #japanese #asian #korean #thesouth #thenorth #different #same #myAmerica #lovedit #drcarlamichelle

2 thoughts on “The Wonders of Celebrating World Culture Day

  1. Carla. good for you to seek beyond your doctorate an Associate in Spanish degree.I was amazed at the array of amazing experiences at the World Culture Day. I was especially interested in the “Furoshiki:  The Art of Japanese Fabric Wrapping presentation and the ballerina was so poised as she leaped through the air. Thank you for sharing this wonder-filled slice.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.